Each year at its Celebrating Local Philanthropy event, Illinois Prairie Community Foundation awards its Philanthropist(s) of the Year award. In 2020, IPCF began awarding two Philanthropist of the Year awards – one for Bloomington-Normal and the other for outside the Twin Cities (other parts of McLean County, plus all of DeWitt, Livingston and Logan counties).

Philanthropy is about generosity in all its many forms, commonly referred to as gifts of “time, talent and treasure.”

Additional information about the award:

Criteria for nomination – an individual, couple or family residing in McLean, DeWitt, Livingston or Logan County who demonstrates:

  • Impact of philanthropic efforts
  • Willingness to serve in leadership roles, providing vision and the ability to involve others in philanthropic activity
  • Outstanding civic responsibility through voluntary commitment of time and contributions of financial resources

The nomination period is open each June and July, with nomination forms due by July 31.

A relationship with the Community Foundation is desirable but not required. Current IPCF Board members and staff are not eligible for nomination.

Top two nominees not selected in the previous year will automatically be considered for the current year.

Download a nomination form and view list of past recipients of the award.