Illinois Prairie Community FoundationIn 1996, a small group of individuals envisioned a community foundation for McLean County. Today, we owe much to the late Carol Reitan, Alan Sender and Drake Zimmerman for doing considerable research on existing foundations and for taking their message to many community leaders. They persisted and gained enough support to turn their dream into a reality by successfully establishing a nonprofit 501 (c)(3) organization two years later. Mayor Judy Markowitz of Bloomington, Mayor Kent Karraker of Normal and McLean County Board Chairperson Gary Riss agreed to serve as the first incorporating board. The Community Foundation of McLean County was officially established on November 6, 1998. On the 20th anniversary of IPCF, Alan Sender and Beth Robb Sender remarked on the origins of the foundation and what philanthropy means to them - read their comments.

Important components of the early planning were communications with the United Way of McLean County’s Board of Directors and staff. The United Way’s Director of Planned Giving and Development was previously employed with the United Way State Office in Michigan, a state in which the United Way organizations work closely with community foundations. This individual was an enthusiastic supporter of the new Community Foundation of McLean County. The Chairman of the United Way Board of Directors held the fourth ex-officio seat on the Community Foundation board.

In April 2004, the name was changed to Illinois Prairie Community Foundation to reflect an expansion to include Livingston, Logan, DeWitt, and parts of several other counties. From the initial gifts totaling $296,900 in Donor Advised Funds, the assets have grown to more than $23.4 million as of 6/30/2021. There are more than 175 funds, which include Donor Advised Funds, Fiscal Sponsorship Funds, Endowments, and Scholarship Funds. The Community Foundation connects people who care with causes that matter by offering local philanthropic leadership, organization, and grant-making for the long-term enrichment of our communities.

In November 2018, IPCF moved from its longtime location in the Flanagan State Bank building in Bloomington to the Foundry at 915 E. Washington St., Suite 2, Bloomington, IL 61701, above the Gingerbread House. The location is also the home of the Shirk Family Foundation.

The National Standards for U.S. Community Foundations® confirms operational excellence in six key areas of community foundation operations, including donor services, investment management, grantmaking and administration. IPCF renewed its accreditation with National Standards in 2020, meaning it meets the highest standards for local giving.

IPCF is also a member of the Alliance of Illinois Community Foundations, a consortium of community foundations throughout the state. The Alliance’s objectives are to educate the public on the role and purpose of community foundations, provide a forum for sharing best practices in grantmaking, stewardship, and donor services, encourage adherence to National Standards prescribed by the Council on Foundations, and develop a link between Alliance members, legislative and government officials, and the citizens of Illinois to inspire charitable giving.

The current Board President is Erin Rogers. Past Presidents are David Anderson, Barbara Nathan, Barry Weer, Darrell Hartweg, Richard Stroyan, Steve Timmermann, Paul Harmon, Susan Hoblit, Tim Leighton, Paul Harmon and Aaron Hays. The current Executive Director is Greg Meyer. Past Executive Directors are Carole Ringer, Myra Gordon and Ruth Ann Fraker (interim). See more about our Leadership.